Boxes. The staple of the Metal Gear Solid series. The box has become an iconic part of the franchise, a light-hearted tool for stealthily travelling around battlefields, warehouses, and ships with varying degrees of success.

Many people have been interested in the mechanics of the box in the upcoming Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain, as the game is slated to have a more serious tone than previous installments. Whilst there was some initial box-based game play shown at E3, Gamescom has confirmed that the box is still as hilarious, and now more tactical, than it has ever been.

Box1

Players can now pop in and out of the box to take down targets, accompanied by a flurry of what looks like flower petals, allowing for quick take-downs. You can also Fulton Recover downed targets from inside the box, a welcome change from Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker‘s clunkier mechanics.

Other features include transforming the box to display an image of an enemy soldier, or swimsuit model, in order to distract the enemy forces. Players will apparently be able to choose the image displayed on the box, and can also leave it in-place as a distraction.

More game play will be shown at Gamescom on Wednesday, August 13th at 2pm Eastern, 11am Pacific and 7pm GMT at the official Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain Preview event, with Hideo Kojima himself present to answer questions after the demonstration.

The release date for Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain has yet to be announced, but the game is slated for a 2015 release.

One Response

Leave a Reply